Vetevo - Shopify Plus Streamlining & Optimierung

Eine Theme Generalüberholung
für Shopify Plus

01. - ÜBERSICHT

Die Ausgangslage

Das Shopify Theme von Vetevo wurde jahrelang mit Shopify Apps & Page Buildern erweitert. Dies führte zu schlechten Ladezeiten, einem uneinheitlichen Erscheinungsbild und schlechter Wartbarkeit. Durch einen professionellen Umbau des Frontends sollten diese Probleme gelöst werden.

Shop ansehen

Services

Web Development, Speed & SEO Optimization

Kunde

Vetevo GmbH

Dauer

7 Monate

Beteiligte Mitarbeiter

1 Project Manager, 2 Frontend Engineers

Herausforderung & Ziele

Es mussten zwei Probleme des aktuellen Shopify Theme gelöst werden: Einerseits war das Theme nicht für das Google Web Vitals vorbereitet, was zu schlechteren SEO Werten führt. Andererseits war das optische Erscheinungsbild durch viele Page Builder und Shopify Apps sehr uneinheitlich und wurde den professionellen Produkten und der Vision von Vetevo nicht gerecht.

Herangehensweise

Zunächst unterstützen wir Vetevo bei der Entscheidungsfindung: Soll das aktuelle Theme beibehalten oder ein neues entwickelt werden? Mit technischen Audits erarbeiteten wir einen Vorschlag, wie die aktuellen Anforderungen von Vetevo’s Marketing-, Design- und Tech-Teams auch mit dem aktuellen Theme umgesetzt werden könnten. Der Schlüssel war ein Design System in Shopify.

undefined

02. - ROADMAP

In agilen Sprints
schnell zum Ziel

In wöchentlichen Meetings synchronisierten sich unsere Entwickler und Designer mit den Marketern und Designern von Vetevo. Zusammen erstellten wir ein Design-System, das die meisten Elemente wie Buttons, Farben und Schriften standardisierten und auf schnelle Ladezeiten auslegten.
Anschließend wurde das Design System verwendet, um neue Page Designs im Shop mit A/B Tests zu validieren und schnell umzusetzen.

01

Design System entwickeln

02

A/B Tests durchführen

03

Gewinner implementieren

04

Performance optimieren

undefined

Ein Design System ist ein Rahmenwerk aus wiederverwendbaren Designkomponenten wie z.B. Schriftformatierungen, Buttons, Tabellen etc.. Es hilft Produkt-Teams dabei eine einheitliche Design-Sprache einzuhalten und performante, conversion-starke Elemente in A/B Tests zu validieren und schnell in Code umzusetzen.

undefined

03. - UMSETZUNG

Vereinheitlichen,
Ausbauen, Optimieren

01

Flexibles Design System entwickeln

Anhand der bestehenden Elemente im Theme und der Design Vorstellung von Vetevo erarbeiteten wir ein eindeutiges Design System. So wurde das Erstellen neuer Seiten und Layouts durch Einsatz der wiederkehrenden Komponenten einfacher und schneller.

02

Basis für Content schaffen

Durch Anwendung des Design Systems auf die bereits bestehenden Elemente im Theme wurde das Design des Onlineshops vereinheitlicht und der Markenauftritt verbessert. Darüber hinaus haben wir neue Komponenten für dynamischere Inhalte und neue Landingpages geschaffen. Dank Shopifys Stores 2.0 können diese nun auch frei für den Bau von Landingpages verwendet werden.

03

Optimale Lösung finden

Sowohl die bestehnden Elemente, als auch alle neuen Komponenten wurden extensiven A/B Tests ausgesetzt, um die jeweils beste Lösung zu identifizieren. Das half die besten Ideen zu identifizieren und wirkte sich entsprechend positiv auf die Conversion Rate des Shops aus.

04

Performance optimieren

Bei allen Maßnahmen Stand im Fokus, dass auch die technische Performance des Shops weiterentwickelt wurde. Stark verbesserte Ladezeiten und Optimierung nach Google Web Vitals wirken sich nicht nur positiv auf das Kundenerlebnis aus, sondern werden auch von Google durch ein besseres Suchmaschinenranking belohnt.

04. - MARKETING BENEFITS

Ergebnis für Vetevos Marketing Team

Mit den neuen Sections und dem Update des Themes auf Stores 2.0 kann das Marketing Team von Vetevo schnell und unkompliziert Inhalte anpassen, austauschen und komplett neue Landingpages kreieren, ohne dabei auf technische Hilfe angewiesen zu sein. So ist es ein leichtes die technische Infrastruktur für neue Kampagnen zu legen.



Die gesteigerten Leistungsdaten des Shops sorgen zudem dafür, das die Besucher des Shops schnell und reibungslos finden was sie suchen. Dies wirkt sich unmittelbar in einem gesteigerten Return on Advertising spend (ROAS) aus.

undefined

06. - TECHNISCHE DATEN

Verbesserte Leistung

Wir haben das Shopify Theme von Vetevo durch zahlreiche kleine Maßnahmen weiterentwickelt. Durch Optimierung in Richtung der Google Web Vitals überzeugt der Shop durch sehr gute Werte in den Bereichen First Input Delay (FID), Largest Contentful Paint (LCP) und Cumulative Layout Shift (CLS). So lädt die Webstore Seiten i.d.R. unter 2 Sekunden und es vergehen lediglich 0,1 Sekunden bis Interaktionen durchführbar sind.

Was optimiert wurde

Web Vitals

Theme Liquid

JavaScript

Shopify Apps

Github & DevOps

HTML5/CSS3

undefined

06. - ERGEBNIS & AUSBLICK

Ergebnis

Durch die umfassende Überarbeitung des Themes wurden unmittelbare Erfolge in vielen wichtigen Bereichen erzielt. Besonders User Experience, Ladezeiten und SEO Performance verbesserten sich merklich. Zudem verfügt Vetevo nun über eine auf Jahre belastbare Basis für Ihren Online Auftritt und ist wesentlich flexibler in der Umsetzung von Marketing Aktivitäten aller Art.

67

speed improvements

2-6x

schneller Ladezeit

50+

Deployments

3

Mitarbeiter bei Especial

undefined

07. - KUNDENMEINUNG

Wir wussten, dass wir erstklassige Experten und Entwickler als Partner benötigen, um unseren Shopify Shop weiter zu entwickeln. In Especial haben eine Agentur gefunden, die nicht nur unsere konkreten Wünsche umgesetzt hat, sondern auch durch darüber hinausgehende Vorschlägen zum unserem Unternehmenserfolg beigetragen haben.



- Dr. Daniel Ringbeck, Head of Product

KUNDENMEINUNG
Platz
31

Erreichte Vetevo im StartUp Marken Ranking von Jung von Matt und landet damit vor Größen wie Flaconi, Flixbus oder Hello Fresh - auch dank des verbesserten Marken-Auftritts online

KONTAKT

Kontakt

Adresse

Especial
Erkrather Str. 401
40231 Düsseldorf
Germany

Soziales

Vetevo - Shopify Plus Streamlining & Optimization

Theme Overhaul – Shopify Plus

01. - OVERVIEW

The Brief

To fix Vetevo’s front-end performance. Primarily making use of Shopify Apps & page builders for Vetevo’s Shopify theme had made their site become slow to load, unappealing in appearance and difficult to maintain. They needed professional help, which is where we stepped in.

Take a look

Services

Web Development, Speed & SEO Optimization

Client

Vetevo GmbH

Project duration

7 Months

The team

1 Project Manager, 2 Front-end Engineers

Challenges & Goals

We were confronted with two main issues:
Firstly, Vetevo’s Shopify theme was not equipped for Google Web Vitals, which led to poor SEO values.
Secondly, due to the use of Shopify Apps & page builders, the visual design of their webpage was not doing their professional products and vision justice. Things needed to change.

Our Approach

We take pride in expertly guiding our clients through their decision-making process. We needed to decide whether their current theme should be kept or if we should take a crack at developing a new one. With the help of technical audits, we were able to create a proposal for Vetevo that included their current marketing, design, and tech team requirements with their current Shopify theme. The key was a design system in Shopify.

undefined

02. - ROADMAP

Reach your Goals quickly
with ‘Usain Bolt-like’ Sprints

We had weekly meetings in which our developers and designers worked closely alongside the markets and designers from Vetevo. Together we created a standardized design system for key elements such as buttons, colors and fonts which were all designed with the aim of achieving faster loading times. We then used the design system for vital A/B tests to validate and speedily implement new page designs in their online shop.

01

Design system development

02

A/B testing

03

Implement the winning recipe

04

Performance optimization

undefined

What is a design system? It’s a framework of reusable design components such as font formatting, buttons, tables etc. It helps product teams adhere to a uniform design language and helps in validating high-performance, high-conversion elements in A/B tests, and allows you to quickly implement them in code.

undefined

03. - IMPLEMENTATION

Standardize, Develop,
Optimize!

01

Develop a flexible design system

We designed a clear design system for Vetevo, based on their existing theme and design concept elements. The aim of ours is to improve, not to re-invent the wheel! The creation of new pages and layouts became both easier and faster using recurring components.

02

Create the basis for content

We achieved a much-improved brand image, streamline and standardized online shop by cleverly applying the design system to existing elements in the theme. On top of this, we also created new components for more dynamic content and new landing pages that Vetevo wanted to incorporate. Thanks to Shopify's Stores 2.0, these can now be used freely when building landing pages.

03

Find the optimal solution

We take our A/B testing very seriously. Through running extensive tests, we were able to expertly identify the best solution for existing elements and all the new components that we added. The result? Implementation of the best ideas which, not surprisingly, had a correspondingly positive effect on Vetevo’s conversion rate. It is very clear to us that taking the time to properly run through tests is worth it!

04

Performance optimization

We took a laser eye focus whilst developing and improving the technical performance of Vetevo’s online shop. Not only does the customer have a more enjoyable experience with faster loading times, and Google Web Vital optimization, but Google rewards these tech improvements with better search engine rankings. Winning on both ends!

04. - MARKETING BENEFITS

A fairy-tale ending for Vetevo's
Marketing Team

Vetevo’s marketing team can quickly and easily change and exchange content, as well as create completely new landing pages – all by themselves, without having to rely on technical help. This was all achieved, by us, through creating new sections and updating the theme to Shopify Stores 2.0.

The groundwork has been done, the technical infrastructure is as solid as a rock, and now Vetevo can look forward to independently launching new campaigns by using the tools we have implemented. The improved data performance of their online shop also allows visitors to find what they are looking for quickly and smoothly. Which we all know has a direct effect in an increased return on ad spend (ROAS).

undefined

05. - TECHNICAL SPECIFICATIONS

Improved performance

Sometimes it’s the little things that count most. We were able to achieve greatness through numerous small changes to the Shopify theme of Vetevo’s online site. By optimizing and focusing on Google Web Vitals, the new shop shines with extremely good values in the areas of First Input Delay (FID), Largest Contentful Paint (LCP) and Cumulative Layout Shift (CLS). The webstore pages usually load under 2 seconds and only 0.1 seconds pass before interactions can be carried out.

Areas of optimization

Web Vitals

Theme Liquid

JavaScript

Shopify Apps

Github & DevOps

HTML5/CSS3

undefined

06. - OUTCOME & OUTLOOK

The Result

Immediate success in many important areas was achieved through our extensive revision of the theme. It’s worth noting that the user experience, loading times and SEO performance have all much improved. We’ve equipped Vetevo with a long-term reliable basis for their online presence and they now have a much more flexible infrastructure for all their marketing dreams and aspirations.

67

speed improvements

2-6x

faster loading time

50+

Deployments

3

people on the Especial team

undefined

07. - CLIENT REFERENCE

We knew that we needed first-class experts and developers as partners to further develop our Shopify shop. In Especial we have found an agency that has not only implemented our specific wishes but has also contributed to our company's success with their expert advice.



- Dr. Daniel Ringbeck, Head of Product

CLIENT REFERENCE
Vetevo placed
 31

at ‘Jung von Matt's StartUp Brand Ranking’ – putting it ahead of greats such as Flaconi, Flixbus or Hello Fresh. All thanks to their improved online brand presence.

CONTACT US

Drop us a line

Address

Especial
Erkrather Str. 401
40231 Düsseldorf
Germany

Socials